Select Page

Power deficient Karnataka will get four new gas-based power stations with a capacity of 8,000 MWs.

At a conference on `Power 2009′ organized by the energy department and CII on Wednesday, energy minister K S Eshwarappa siad: “It will come up in four districts under a PPP model, with 2,000 MW capacity each — in Belgaum, Gadag, Davangere and Tumkur. The project will cost Rs 32,000 crore,” Eshwarappa said.

According to him, the next step is privatization of Escoms. “Both the Centre and the state government feel it is a key step towards power reforms,” he explained.


Copyright © 2022 EAI. All rights reserved.