ITC, IndusInd Bank, Welspun, TCS, BPCL and Wipro among Parivartan Sustainability Leadership Award Winners - India Renewable Energy Consulting – Solar, Biomass, Wind, Cleantech
Select Page


ITC, IndusInd Bank, Welspun, TCS, BPCL and Wipro among Parivartan Sustainability Leadership Award Winners

Multi-business conglomerate ITC, Textile leader Welspun, Oil major BPCL, IT majors TCS and Wipro and banking leader IndusInd Bank were amongst 14 large and small Indian corporates that bagged the Parivartan Sustainability Leadership Awards for 2012.

The awards were presented at the evening plenary of the Annual Summit of the Sustainable Business Leadership Forum, India’s first market development forum on Sustainability and Innovation, held in New Delhi on October 11, 2012.

The Parivartan Sustainability Leadership Awards (, instituted by Sustainability Outlook, are a platform to uncover and recognize progressive corporates, service providers, and individuals whose efforts serve as catalyst for advancing sustainability in India.

The winners were arrived at after a rigorous 3 step review and the finalists were judged by an eminent 7 member jury headed by Dr. S.Y. Quraishi, Former Chief Election Commissioner of India. Other jury members included Stuart L. Hart, S.C. Johnson Chair of Sustainable Global Enterprise at Cornell University, Bakul R. Patel, Board Director, Infrastructure Development Finance Company (IDFC), Rita Menon, Chairperson -cum-Managing Director, India Trade Promotion Organisation, Dr. Uddesh Kohli, Chairman Emeritus – Construction Industry Development Council and Senior Advisor to the UN Global Compact, K.C. Mehra, Resident Director (Corporate), Shapoorji Pallonji Group and Bazmi Husain, Managing Director, ABB India.

Dr. Kirit Parikh, renowned economist and Former Member Planning Commission and Chair of the Integrated Energy Policy Committee of the Planning Commission was the Chief Guest at the Awards evening .

Speaking on the occasion, Dr. Parikh extolled the Indian industry leaders to imbibe sustainability as a core aspect in their business planning and highlighted that given the ever increasing scarcity of key energy and water resources, businesses will do themselves a disservice by viewing and architecting these as mere responses to compliance measures.

Addressing the gathering via a recorded message, the Jury Chair Dr. S.Y. Quraishi stated that India is at a critical phase in its shift towards a low carbon economy. As Indian firms seek to establish themselves at the top of the global order, our ability to build thought leadership and solutions to address the unique sustainability challenges will be a key pre-requisite in that journey. He congratulated the award winners and hoped that such measures and innovations will motivate other industry participants to undertake similar initiatives thus paving a path for a resilient India.

“The award winners have incorporated a number of innovative approaches for catalyzing sustainability in their operations and deserve recognition. These pioneering efforts need to be replicated at scale to shape the requisite impact within the Indian industry” said Rita Menon, Chairperson of IPTO and a member of the Awards Jury.

Added Dr. Uddesh Kohli , Senior Advisor, UN Global Compact and also member of the Awards Jury, “It is exciting to see emergence of innovative solutions to address the challenges faced by Indian industry as they seek to shape resource oriented sustainability into their work-stream”.

Unique features of this year’s awards included special recognition for firms leading in public disclosure of their non- financial performance on environment, social and governance parameters (based on years 2009-10 through 11-12). The top 100 companies in India (by market capitalization) were analyzed for determining the winners in this category.

In addition, the awards also featured Sustainability Leaders of the Year category to recognize senior business leaders who have successfully introduced sustainability measures within their organizations and /or sectors they operate in.

“We are extremely delighted to receive the Parivartan Sustainability Leadership Award 2012. It is a matter of pride and priority for our company to strive for environmental sustainability and we are happy that our efforts are being recognized’’, said Niranjan Khatri, General Manager – Welcomenviron Initiatives of ITC Welcomgroup, a winner in the Corporate Sustainability Stewardship category.

Parivartan 2012 unveiled truly unique initiatives to transition toward manufacturing, infrastructure, energy management and closed – loop businesses systems, amongst others. The winners of Parivartan Sustainability Leadership Awards 2012 across various categories are listed below.

To learn more about the Parivartan Awards and the initiatives of the winners, please visit

Winners of the 2012 Parivartan Sustainability Leadership Awards 2012
Category 1: Corporate Sustainability Stewardship Awards
Innovation in Business Model and Strategy
a. Shaping Brand Leveraging Sustainability – ITC Gardenia
b. Empowering Value chains to be Sustainable – Reverse Logistics

Resource Conservation Leadership
a. Manufacturing – Welspun
b. Infrastructure – Essar Steel
c. Sustainable Spaces – IndusInd Bank

Category 2: Sustainability Disclosure Leadership Award (Special recognition based on Public Disclosure by Top 100 companies by market capitalization)
a. Most Consistent Disclosure: Tata Consultancy Services (TCS)
b. Most Consistent Disclosure by PSUs: Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited (BPCL)
c. Most Enhanced Disclosure: Wipro

Category 3: Sustainability Innovation Award for Addressing Resource Challenges
a. Energy Systems and Service: GIBSS
b. Energy Management Tools: Volvo India
c. Innovative Material and Recycling: Hanjer Biotech Energies
d. Resource Conservation and Augmentation: NESPAL Air Water Heater

Category 4: Sustainability Leader of the Year Award
a. Sustainability Manager of the Year: Niranjan Khatri, ITC
b. Sustainability Catalyst of the Year: Dr. Datta Roy, Dalkia Energy Services

Media Contact: Shradha Kapur,, +91.11.4050.7277

About the Organizer: Sustainability Outlook (
Sustainability Outlook is a market access, insight and collaboration platform tracking actions related towards Sustainability in the Indian economy. It proactively promotes dialogue and collates data to enable action by local, regional as well as global practitioners. Sustainability Outlook provides (a) in-depth business and policy analyses (b) updates on the market participants and latest trends on sustainability initiatives and (c) expert inputs on resource reduction and other abatement as well as adaptation measures being undertaken. Sustainability Outlook aims to be the bridge for shaping change in this thought process and spur innovation.

Instituted by Sustainability Outlook

Also check out: Sustainability Edge – EAI Consulting to assist corporates design, evaluate and align sustainability strategies

About Narasimhan Santhanam (Narsi)

Narsi, a Director at EAI, Co-founded one of India's first climate tech consulting firm in 2008.

Since then, he has assisted over 250 Indian and International firms, across many climate tech domain Solar, Bio-energy, Green hydrogen, E-Mobility, Green Chemicals.

Narsi works closely with senior and top management corporates and helps then devise strategy and go-to-market plans to benefit from the fast growing Indian Climate tech market.

Know More...Connect with our director

Copyright © 2024 EAI. All rights reserved.